Review: Essence by A L Waddington

Image

Name: Essence

Author: A L Waddington

Series: The EVE Series, Book 1

Date Released: January 15th, 2014

My Rating: 4 really good stars

Add to Goodreads

Blurb:

Jocelyn Timmons does not believe she is anything special — just an ordinary high school senior, living an ordinary life full of school-work, volleyball and friends. She’s about to find out how wrong she is.

Jackson Chandler moved in to the house across the street. His dark wavy hair, green eyes and charismatic personality draws everyone to him. Everyone, but Jocelyn.

Whenever Jackson gets near Jocelyn she feels ill and dizzy. When he touches her, she blacks out and has visions of another life, in another time. As the odd hallucinations evolve and become clearer, she feels a strong pull towards the people she sees there. Frightened, she watches her once stable life begin to crumble around her and she begins to question her own sanity.

Could it be possible that these episodes are actually her own memories of a life she is living somehow, somewhere, some-when? Maybe this is time-travel or some other paranormal mysticism? Our minds often wander, but can our souls?

My thoughts:

Wow. I extremely enjoyed this book. Once I started it, I got sucked in.

‘Essence’ follows the story of Jocelyn Timmons. She is an ordinary teenager, whose life suddenly changes when a boy named Jackson Chandler moves into the house opposite hers. Whenever she is near Jackson, Jocelyn feels dizzy, nauseated and if he touches her, she blacks out. To find out why, go and read this book!

I loved it. In the beginning, I thought old-time Jocelyn is a little whiny and I still am not a big fan of her. However, present-time Jocelyn is awesome. Jackson is also great. But my favorite character is Emily, Jackson’s mother. I loved her!!!

The plot is frigging awesome and so is the execution. I really liked the character development. Okay, I was annoyed by Jocelyn’s reaction when she found out about William and Olivia, but the ending made me happy.

This book is highly recommended. I loved it!

 

Leave a Reply

